Marketing for Thought

Introduction

I’m Victoria.

I love fashion, writing, blogging, running without sneakers, traveling, Paris, coffee without sugar, the first snow during winter, and sleeping without a pillow.

Why Marketing?

I was never one of those kids who knew what they wanted to be when they grew up. My answer was always different.  When I was in kindergarten, I told my teacher I wanted to be a firefighter. I then spent the entire night crying because I was afraid of fires. Before college, I told my mom I wanted to be a dentist. And then I got an infection from getting my wisdom teeth out, where, long story short,  I passed out from the sight of my own blood.

It was hard for me to commit to the idea of one profession. I admired every parent that came in on career day, and instantly fell in love with jobs I saw in movies, like Jennifer Lopez in the Wedding Planner or Meryl Streep in The Devil Wears Prada. And I couldn’t single anything out.

You could imagine what a disadvantage this was while I was applying for college.  I didn’t want to pick a school and years later come to find they didn’t have the major I wanted. I applied to all different schools and programs, and decided on Elon University as a Mathematics major.

After 18 years of struggling with different job ideas and one college calculus class, I finally realized one thing I wanted and needed in a career: creativity.  I loved numbers and statistics, but I craved being fulfilled creatively. Marketing is the perfect way for me to balance these things.  I am intrigued with product branding and research, using statistics to make creative designs.

Why Integrated Marketing Communications?

What better way to branch my communications studies with my marketing studies?  My goal is to learn how to communicate the same core message across all platforms: advertising, marketing strategies, and public relations.

This post is a part of a series of posts for Integrated Marketing Communications class that explores strategies of integrated marketing communications and recognizes strong and weak branding strategies today.

Standard

One thought on “Introduction

  1. Prof. Mac says:

    This is a terrific intro. Victoria. Gives me such a great sense of who you are and where you want to go.
    Only one question … sleeping without a pillow??

    😉

Leave a Reply

