Hartford Magazine, Inner Fashionista

First Major Publication

Image

This summer I had the amazing opportunity of writing several articles  for my internship with Hartford Magazine.

The first assignment I was given was extremely daunting: 150 words on gourmet dog bakeries.  Okay, so that does not sound so bad but the only thing I could think about was how this could determine career paths for me.  What if she hated it? What if it was too cutesy? The 150 words I choose would determine my fate. Woof.

Three hours later, the perfectionist in me was finally satisfied with my piece. I emailed my editor the article and waited the longest two hours of my life for a response.  Needless to say she loved it and asked me to choose a topic for a bigger piece.

The following Monday, we discussed possibilities for upcoming issues. The minute she brought up a consignment shopping piece, I knew I had to be involved.  I have this obsession with the movie “The Devil Wears Prada” and want to be Meryl Streep’s character.  This was no Vogue or Fashion Week, but I knew this would be a first glance at writing about clothes and fashion.

This story had to be perfect.  It had to depict my journey and insight.  It had to be accurate and well thought. Being published in a magazine was something I never thought was attainable, and the fact that I was writing about clothes was beyond me.

I compiled a thorough list of consignments shops within an hour radius of my house.  I spent two work weeks traveling to each one, sometimes accompanied by my mom. We took detailed notes and sent pictures of our finds to one another.  Vintage Chanel, Christian Dior, Gucci, Hermes, St. John’s, and Versace were within grasp. I was astounded by some of my finds, and a few became my own treasures.

Read  my first article online!

The Lure of the Hunt, Hartford Magazine September 2012

Shopping adventures continued

Standard

Leave a Reply

